2015 Sumitomo Metal Mining Oceania Scholarships Awarded

Featured news
Featured news

On Monday 20 July, Central West school students Mackenzie Baker and Jasper Arnold were each awarded a 2015 Sumitomo Metal Mining Oceania (SMMO) Scholarship.

Mr Hitoshi Ito, Managing Director of SMMO, presided over the scholarship ceremony. “These scholarships are part of our ongoing commitment to the local community. I am delighted to present this year’s scholarships to such outstanding students,” he said.

The aim of the scholarship program, which is supported by Northparkes Mines, is to promote and encourage careers in the mining industry. Mr Arnold, who attends Year 11 at Parkes High School is interested in a career in mining engineering. Ms Baker, who attends Year 11 at Kinross Wolaroi School and lives in Parkes, is considering a career in geology.

“Since I was five years old, I have been picking up rocks and trying to find out more about them”, Ms Baker said. “This scholarship brings me closer to a career in geology.”

“I am honoured to receive this scholarship, and I am sure it will help me achieve my study goals,” Mr Arnold said.

Mr Arnold and Ms Baker join two existing scholarship holders, Ben Bevan from Parkes High School and Alistar Kopp from Peak Hill Central School, who became the first ever SMMO Scholarship holders in 2014.

The two Year 11 students will receive $500 for successful completion of Year 11 and $1,000 for successful completion of Year 12. $2,000 is also granted to those scholarship students who enter and successfully complete their first year at university in a mining related course. In total, each student is eligible to receive up to $3500.

The SMMO Scholarship program is administered by Northparkes Mines, with which SMMO is a joint venture partner. The scholarship is a voluntary investment by SMMO above and beyond sponsorship and community grants already provided by Northparkes Mines.

In addition to financial support provided by SMMO, Northparkes offers work experience and career mentoring to SMMO scholarship holders both onsite and throughout Australia.

Start typing and press Enter to search